RMS AccountingRoyalHeader

Florida’s minimum wage is $6.67 per hour effective January 1, 2007 for all hours worked in Florida.

Employers must pay their employees a wage not less than the amount of the hourly state minimum wage for all hours worked in Florida.  The definitions of “employer,” “employee,” and “wage” for state purposes are the same as those established under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).  For “tipped employees” meeting eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), employers must pay a direct hourly wage of $3.65 as of January 1, 2007.

Beginning in 2007, each employer who must pay the Florida minimum wage must prominently display a poster (as least 8.5” x 11”) in a conspicuous, accessible place to employees.  The poster can be downloaded from the Agency for Workforce Innovation’s website at:  http://www.floridajobs.org/resources/fl_min_wage.html.   Because the Florida minimum wage does not apply unless the employee would first be entitled to the federal minimum wage, a Florida employer required to pay employees the federal minimum wage, a Florida employer required to pay employees the federal minimum wage must post the federal poster and the Florida poster.  The federal posters can be downloaded from USDOL website at: http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/posters/flsa.htm

2319 North Andrews Ave ■ Fort Lauderdale, FL 33311
(800) 382-1040 ■ Fax (866) 759-2153
www.RMSAccounting..com